Skip to content

December 1, 2013

Implementing Stock Picking Wheel in Highcharts

by Joe Kuan

Investor Wheel in Highcharts

This is the work that I have done a while ago but I didn’t have time to write up. About 6 months ago, I saw an impressive chart, Stock Picking Wheel, which represents a list of FTSE 100 stocks and their performance summarised in a donut chart. So I gave myself a challenge to see whether it is possible to implement in Highcharts and here it is.

Note that there are couple differences to the original Stock Picking Wheel chart. The middle detail charts are missing which I don’t have any spare time to finish it. However, I think this should be pretty straightforward. Another difference is that instead of ordering the stocks by a score system, the stocks are arranged in percentage of price change. The gradual color change ranges from below -3% (red) to above 3% (blue).

You can try the demo in here and download the source code from my github. The demo extracts the FTSE 100 symbols and retrieves their current prices from Yahoo Finance. Apology in advance that I haven’t included any description of how I implemented this but there are comments in the code. Perhaps, I will leave this exercise to my next edition of Learning Highcharts (if the opportunity comes again).

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

